Smoke Break — 9.17.21

Garfield Hylton
3 min readSep 21, 2021

‘Smoke Break’ is a new section where structure is replaced with free-writing ideas as they come. The name is in honor of a magazine and community responsible for bettering my writing skills, The Smoking Section, aka TSS, aka @WeAreStillCrew. It’s also in service to replace one of my worst habits.

You can read the first edition here.

Speaking of my worst habit, I still haven’t managed to kick this tobacco addiction. In some ways, it’s gotten a lot worse since the last time I wrote this column more than three years ago. Every once in a while, I AM aware that I shouldn’t be doing this and make grand overtures to stop introducing this poison to my body. And then I forget on my way to the 7/11.

I started a new training regimen to increase my basketball skill. Basketball used to be one of my favorite things to do, but age, location, and a pandemic rendered it a relic of the past. I recently started a new gym membership, mainly because they have an indoor basketball court within the facility. I played a game in August and never felt more out of shape in my life. I also rolled my ankle and needed to hobble my way back to the car.

Instead of working my way back into playing shape on the court, I’ve taken some of this newly acquired discretionary income to hire a trainer for help. I…

--

--

Garfield Hylton

Medium Creator Fellow. Award-winning TV news journalist. Freelance writer. Mad question asker.