My Journey From Law School Grad To Writer: Part 1

Every new journey begins with a first step…and a giant leap of faith.

Garfield Hylton
7 min readOct 27, 2021
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I never thought I’d make it as a writer.

When I was 10, I wanted to be a lawyer. From 5th grade to the first year of law school, the entirety of my trajectory aligned with “Garfield Hylton, ESQ.” There’s a certain admiration for being so focused at so early an age that even a two-year delay, caused by not being accepted into law school the first time I applied in 2007, couldn’t move me from my intentions.

I spent the interim between my first round of rejection in 2007 and my eventual acceptance into North Carolina Central University’s 2009 class working two jobs and writing. It started with Facebook Notes in 2006 while still attending undergrad at Florida State University, moved to Blogger sometime in 2007, and eventually made its way to WordPress in 2008ish under the title, “When Keeping It Real Goes Right.”

“Real Goes Right,” a moniker I used both for shorthand and Twitter handle for the blog, mainly was just one man sharing his opinions under the guise of “keeping it real.” It’s very much on-brand that while everyone else was cycling through niches until they found one they fit neatly into, I published the blog with the tagline “a blog about everything.”

--

--

Garfield Hylton

Medium Creator Fellow. Award-winning TV news journalist. Freelance writer. Mad question asker.