6 Things I Learned As A Medium Columnist

Six things I learned while writing once a week, every week, for six months.

Garfield Hylton
9 min readSep 10, 2021
Photo by Kaitlyn Baker on Unsplash

My time as a weekly columnist for Medium’s anti-racism publication, Momentum, has come to an end. From March to August, I posted one article per week on what it’s like to be Black in America.

I’ve tackled how the eviction crisis will devastate Black communities, worried about school choices for my unborn Black children, sneered at Black home appraisal discrimination, which contributes to the “broke-ness” of Black millennials, and drew parallels between a Black soldier in a popular Disney+ show paralleled police, in real life, harassing a Black soldier.

When Cubans took to Florida’s streets in protest, I wrote about the hypocrisy of their political support. As remote work became the norm with COVID-19 wreaking havoc, I discussed why Black people weren’t in a hurry to return to the office. I flipped a story about my most intimate experience regarding racism with a former best friend. I discovered a Black family that would’ve been millionaires if White people hadn’t stolen their land.

In my opinion, my work at Momentum has been the best writing of my life. I’ve never felt more challenged, excited, scared, and liberated. Every week presented a new chance to write about the Black…

--

--

Garfield Hylton

Medium Creator Fellow. Award-winning TV news journalist. Freelance writer. Mad question asker.